” A Guide of Hand-Book for Mount Hope Cemetery” by Edward Angevine

While doing some research this afternoon on Mt. Hope cemetery for my Master’s research, I came across this awesome resource that I had never heard of before, so I thought I would share it for anyone out there interested, or doing similar work.

The piece is titled ” A Guide of Hand-Book for Mount Hope Cemetery” by author/engraver Edward Angevine. The text has an excellent description of the early history of Rochester’s Mt. Hope Cemetery, and some wonderful line-engravings of its features (including early maps). Since the research I am doing is material culture based, these engravings were exactly what I was looking for!

Image

You can access a PDF or HTML readable copy of the work here, accessible through the Library of Congress E-book and Text Archive.

Leave a Reply

